Department Recognizes Exceptional Undergraduates

news story image

Left to right: Paul Rueger, Yi-En Huang, Peter DeMuth, Adedayo "Andy" Adeniran, Gary Cheng, Patrick Elder, Michael Margolies, Melissa Tsai, Samuel Lopez, Silvia Hou, Professor and Chair F. Joeseph Schork, Leigh Quang, and Professor Kyu Yong Choi. Not pictured: Patricia Castellanos, Vivek Dwivedi, and Patricia Gonzales.

The Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering celebrated the conclusion of another academic year by hosting a reception to recognize ChBE undergraduates for their achievements and contributions to the department. Attendees included those who had received awards at the recent Clark School Honors and Awards Ceremony, and many others who have demonstrated academic excellence.

The students honored were:

Center for Minorities in Science and Engineering Service Award
Adedayo Adeniran

David Arthur Berman Memorial Award
Gary Cheng

Outstanding Senior Award
Peter DeMuth

Teaching Assistant of the Year
Vivek Dwivedi

Outstanding ASPIRE Research Award
Patrick Elder

Russell Barch Memorial Award
Sylvia Hou

Outstanding Senior Award
Michael Margolies

Outstanding Junior Award
Leigh Quang

ExxonMobil—NCS AIChE Award
Paul Rueger

AIChE Student Chapter Award
Melissa Tsai

Future Faculty Program
The Department was also pleased to honor Patricia Castellanos and Patricia Gonzales, who were among only 20 graduate students in the Clark School selected to participate in the new Future Faculty Program, which prepares students for academic careers in top-50 engineering schools.

Asked to share some thoughts and memories on a poster made for the occasion, one student left this intriguing message:


Congratulations to all of our students!

Published May 14, 2007