ChBE Undergraduates Honored

Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (ChBE) students were among the award recipients at the 2006-2007 A. James Clark School of Engineering’s Honors and Awards Ceremony, held April 19. The event honors students from all departments who have demonstrated outstanding academic performance, research, and contributions to their departments or fields. ChBE Professor and Chair F. Joseph Schork presented the awards.

This year, the awards and their recipients were:

Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 2007 Russell Barch Memorial Award

Awarded to Sicong Silvia Hou
Silvia is a senior in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and is due to graduate in May 2007. She was recognized for her excellent academic record and her contribution to the department through her work in the student chapter of AIChE. She is also an Ambassador for the Clark School of Engineering. She was a member of the AAUW National Student Advisory Council. After graduation Silvia will be working for Goldman Sachs in New York.

Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering 2007 David Arthur Berman Memorial Award

Awarded to Gary Cheng
Gary is a junior in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and was recognized for his excellent academic record as well as his contribution to the department. Gary is an active member of our student chapter of AIChE. He is on the Deans List, the Hinman CEO’s program. He is in the Golden Key International Honor Society, Primannum Honor Society and the National Society of Colligate Scholars which all are also service orientated.

Center for Minorities in Science and Engineering Service Award

Awarded to Adedayo Adeniran
The CMSE Service Award is presented for dedicated service to the Center and the University community, and commitment to promoting and increasing diversity in engineering. Adedeyo is a junior who since fresman year has worked for the Center for Minorities in Science and Engineering's GEAR UP program. As membership chair of the Black Engineers Society she recruits and welcomes new members. Currently, she is a participant in the LSAMP undergraduate research program, where she works with a ChBE faculty member.

The Outstanding ASPIRE Award

Awarded to Patrick elder
The Outstanding ASPIRE Award is presented to the ASPIRE (A Scholars Program for Industry-Oriented Research in Engineering) student who has carried out the most successful research project. Patrick, a senior, completed his ASPIRE project with Dr. Srinivasa Raghavan studying the creation, application and viscous properties of photosensitive micelle and vesicle systems. His research culminated in the discovery of an important new class of light-sensitive fluids with broad applicability. This resulted in a paper in the prestigious Journal of the American Chemical Society. Patrick is also president of the University of Maryland Fencing Club.

Published April 19, 2007