Winners and Photos: ResearchFest 2012

Photos from ResearchFest 2012

You can also see a larger version of the gallery and download hi-res images on Google.

ResearchFest 2012: The Winners!

Janet Hsu, Chia-Ying (Winnie) Chiang, Amy Marquardt, and Neville Fernandes.
Left to right: Janet Hsu, Chia-Ying (Winnie) Chiang, Amy Marquardt, and Neville Fernandes.

Overall Winner:  

  • Amy Marquardt
    "Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD) Films as Diffusion Barriers for Silver Artifacts"
    Advisor: Dr. Ray Phaneuf
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Runners-Up (In Alphabetical Order):   

  • Chia-Ying (Winnie) Chiang
    "Biological Templates for Anti-reflecting Surface & Current Collectors for Photoelectrochemical Cell Applications"
    Advisor: Dr. Sheryl Ehrman
    Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Neville Fernandes
    "Creating Polymer Hydrogel 'Hybrids' Combining Gels of Distinct Properties"
    Advisor: Dr. Srinivasa Raghavan
    Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Janet Hsu
    "Enhanced Kidney and Heart Delivery of α-Galactosidase by Modulating Enzyme Load and Carrier Bulk-Concentration of ICAM-1-Targeted Nanocarriers"
    Advisor: Dr. Silvia Muro
    Fischell Department of Bioengineering

ResearchFest 2012: Our Judges

This year, our judges were:

  • Dr. Colin Hebert (Ph.D. '08, bioengineering)
    Dr. Hebert works at Naval Research Lab in Washington, D.C. where he is developing antibody and label-free detection technologies.'
  • Erin LaBarre (B.S./M.S. '06, materials science and engineering)
    Ms. LaBarre works at Johns Hopkins University in the Materials Division of the Applied Physics Laboratory (APL).
  • Dr. Ivan Lee (Ph.D. '01, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
    Dr. Lee works at the U.S. Army Research Laboratory in the Catalysis and Fuel Chemistry Energy and Power Division.
judges erin labarre and colin hebert

judge ivan lee, graduate student chanda arya

We'd like to take this opportunity to thank our judges for their time, participation, and feedback!

ResearchFest 2012: Our Organizers

This year, our graduate student organizers and staffers were:

  • Stephen Banik, President, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Graduate Student Association (CGA);
  • Rasa Ghaffarian, Bioengineering Graduate Student Society (BGSS) President;
  • Rich Suchoski, President, Materials Science Graduate Society (MSGS); and
  • CGA members Chanda Arya, Emily Chimiak, Kevin Diehn, Will Gibbons, and Annie Lu.

See the 2012 Presentation Slides