Winners and Photos: ResearchFest 2013

Photos from ResearchFest 2013

You can also see a larger version of the gallery and download hi-res images on Google.

ResearchFest 2013: The Winners!

Winners and Judges
Left to right: Dr. Tieren Gao (judge), Wei W. Yu (overal winner), Wenbo Zhu (ChBE winner), Jiayu Wan (MSE winner), Dr. Milind Ajinkya (judge), Dr. Angela Fu (judge), and Janet Hsu (BioE winner).

Overall Winner:  

  • Wei W. Yu
    "Paper SERS Devices for Chemical Detection and Medical Diagnostics"
    Advisor: Dr. Ian White
    Fischell Department of Bioengineering

The best presentation and poster from a representative of each department were also honored: 

  • Janet Hsu
    "Interaction of ICAM-1-Targeted Polymer Nanocarriers with Different Brain Cell Types in Culture"
    Advisor: Dr. Silvia Muro
    Fischell Department of Bioengineering
  • Wenbo Zhou
    "Morphological Changes to Surface Attached Bacterial Spores Subjected to Sub-second Thermal Stress"
    Advisor: Dr. Michael Zachariah
    Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Jiayu Wan
    "Intercalated Optoelectronics of 2D Materials"
    Advisor: Dr. Liangbing Hu
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering

ResearchFest 2013: Our Judges

This year, our judges were:

  • Dr. Milind Ajinkya, Chemical Engineer, Exxon (retired)
  • Dr. Tieren Gao, Research Associate, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Dr. Angela Fu (Ph.D. '13, bioengineering), Research Fellow, FDA

The departments and our graduate societies would like to thank all of our judges for their generous donation of their time and efforts.

ResearchFest 2013: Our Organizers


This year, our graduate student organizers and staffers were:

  • Anthony Melchiorri and Amin Zargar, Bioengineering Graduate Student Society (BGSS)
  • Chanda Arya and Andrew Quinn, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Graduate Student Association (CGA)
  • Richard Sukoski, Materials Science Graduate Society (MSGS)